Tags

,

Back before I had food issues, I used to joke: “I hope I never have issues with gluten, because I really love gluten!”  In reality, gluten doesn’t contribute much towards flavor.  It’s primarily involved with the physical properties of foods containing wheat and various other grains; this includes things like elasticity, holding its shape, and chewy texture.  (You can read more here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten).

But, that is beside the point.  The point is that, at the time, I really liked bread.  (I have since gotten quite used to a bread-free existence.)  As such, it didn’t take long before I tried making a gluten free bread.  I had never made bread before… I assumed it would be difficult and complicated, what with all that yeast and bread-rising action.  As it turns out, it’s actually quite simple.  Mix the ingredients using a mixer, put it in a bread pan, wait an hour or so for the bread to rise, and then bake in the oven.  Then presto!  You have freshly baked bread.

I tried two different brands:  Gluten Free Pantry’s “Favorite Sandwich Bread Mix” and Pamela’s “Gluten-Free Bread Mix.” Pamela’s was my favorite out of the two.  It has a slightly sweeter flavor and tasted great either by itself or with a light drizzling of olive oil and salt.  But perhaps it’s not the fairest of comparisons.  After all, Gluten Free Pantry’s mix was designed to be a sandwich bread; it’s meant to go with foods that have strong flavors, like meat, cheese, condiments, jelly, and/or nut butters.  Generally a less sweet bread is desirable in that situation.  In any case, I made a batch of Pamela’s bread for my family (none of whom are gluten-free), and they all thought it tasted really good.

As a side note, you can made this recipe egg-free by using an egg replacer, which is what I did.  The bag for Pamela’s mix even includes special instructions for using this mix with an egg replacer.

Conclusions

Super awesome mix.  I finally ended up buying a 4 pound bag of the stuff because I was making it so often.  The mix also has instructions for making things like pizza crust, dinner rolls, or bagels.

The only downside is the bread stales rather quickly.  I found that it was best to slice and freeze anything I wasn’t planning on eating within the next day or so.  The rest I kept in the fridge.  Frozen slices can then be put into a toaster oven (or a regular toaster), just like you would with an frozen Eggo® waffle.  Works just great!  You may have to experiment with the timing/temperature; it all depends on the size of your bread slices.

