Tags

, ,

One of the downsides of waiting 3+ months to blog about a recipe you cooked is trying to remember what recipe you used.  In some cases, I at least did myself the favor of copying a link to the recipe into a draft blog entry.  Not so in this case.  Fortunately, of all things, I found my grocery list for this recipe while packing up my apartment last month (it stood out because I had written it on a napkin while at a coffeehouse):

Based on this (and a simple google search for slow cooker beef stew) and my propensity to try things from All Recipes, I have deduced that this is the recipe I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-beef-stew-i/

As you can see, it’s a pretty straight forward recipe…. it only has 2 steps!

I was pretty excited about doing this recipe because it was my first time using my new crock pot.  I put together the entire recipe the night before, refrigerated it overnight, then popped it back into the crock pot in the morning, and then let it cook while I was at work all day.  Pretty cool to come home to an already cooked meal.

Conclusions

Great recipe.  I’d definitely do this again if I’m permitted to eat grains again.  Even if I’m still not allowed to have gluten, I imagine I could use one of the many flour substitutes out there.  In the meantime, perhaps I’ll try it without flour and see what happens… or try to find a similar recipe that doesn’t require flour…  I really need to get that crock pot back out.

