Tags

,

I’ve been on quite the smoothie kick lately.  It’s a nice, healthy way to enjoy a sweet “dessert” without any dairy, grains, or added sugars.

After several weeks of perfecting my fruit smoothie recipe, I ran across a post on Facebook from a juice cafe that talked about the health benefits of kale.  I was impressed!  I didn’t realize that kale provided calcium and iron (along with a host of other vitamins and nutrients).  I also didn’t realize it was a popular ingredient for smoothies.  So… thus began my Googling adventure.  After reading through various recipes and blog posts, I finally decided to stick with my normal smoothie recipe and just add 1 cup of chopped kale.

Recipe

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 cups semi-defrosted frozen fruit
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup chopped kale (without the stem)

I’ve found that my fairly inexpensive blender has a hard time with fruit fresh from the freezer.  So I began the habit of taking fruit out and letting it sit for 30-60 minutes before blending.  Even after all this time, it’s still pretty cold and solid.  But it seems to blend a little better when I do this.  I’ve also found that adding 1 fresh banana (not frozen) seems to help with the blending process.  It also makes the smoothie a bit more creamy.  I tried using a peeled frozen banana once, but I couldn’t figure out how to peel it!  It was rock solid.  After letting it sit out and defrost for awhile, it eventually turned into a soggy, slimy mess and I have since given up on frozen bananas.  (I’ve since learned that it helps to peel and slice the bananas before you freeze them… but why go through all the work of freezing them when you can just use a fresh one?  And in my case… my blender seems to like it much better if there’s some non-frozen stuff in there.)

I also used to add ice because that’s what I had been told to do… but it doesn’t really add anything.  I started leaving it out and I didn’t even notice the difference.  So it seemed pointless to go through the work of adding it.

Conclusions

I’m already a huge fan of my fruit smoothie (basically take the above recipe and just leave out the kale).  The kale was an interesting addition.  Very subtle.  There were times when I could kind of taste it, but it was pleasant.  Made me feel rather healthy!

